2005 Distinguished Performance Awards

Large team awards -

done reliably with a 100% success rate. The team executed a series of plate impact experiments that measured material density in the shocked state with unrivaled accuracies. This independent method for obtaining material state variables could dramatically alter and enhance understanding of equations of state and provide rigorous tests of material models. Detailed measurements using proton radiography coupled with the propellant gun can now probe material failure, including incipient damage formation and evolution, thereby addressing one of the major areas of uncertainty in the Laboratory's predictive science stockpile stewardship campaigns.

Off-Site Source Recovery Project

The Off-Site Source Recovery Project (OSRP) team received a large team Distinguished Performance Award for outstanding performance in the emerging field of radiological threat reduction.

The Laboratory is recognized as the premier U.S. institution to address the potential

threat of a radiological dispersal device, or dirty bomb, by aggressively seeking out the most vulnerable radiological sources that are excess and unwanted or orphaned by their owners. The project is part of the U.S. Radiological Threat Reduction Program led by NNSA and managed by the Lab. The team has recovered sources containing radioactive plutonium, americium, cesium, cobalt, and strontium from medical, agricultural, research, and industrial locations in the United States and in other countries, including Sudan and South Africa. By the end of 2005, the team recovered and secured 1,693 radioactive sources from more than 80 sites. Of significance was the team's work to recover some of the most worrisome irradiators in high schools and small colleges across the United States. For example, the team successfully recovered and secured three irradiators that had been orphaned at a high school in Texas. The largest recovery effort took place in November 2005 when the team managed the recovery and disposal of nearly 60,000 curies of DOE-owned cobalt-60 from Atlanta. The team



Off-Site Source Recovery Project Team — Cristy Abeyta, Alexander Feldman, Justin Griffin, Lorraine Hauschild, Shelby Leonard, Michael Lindstrom, James Matzke, Michael Pearson, Joseph Tompkins, and Mark Wald-Hopkins of N-2; Jerry McAlpin and Mark Waterman of KMP-FOCI; Leonard Manzanares of RP-1 and Julia Whitworth of NN.

has clearly established its members as radiological material recovery experts, accomplishing their work without a single safety or security violation or incident.

Reliable Replacement Warhead Feasibility Study Project

The Reliable Replacement Warhead (RRW) Feasibility Study Project may potentially change the nature and composition of the U.S. nuclear stockpile over the course of the next few decades. Los Alamos' Reliable Replacement Warhead (RRW) Feasibility Study Project team earned a large team Distinguished Performance Award for its work to develop, manage, and complete a detailed physics baseline design and alternative designs that meet all Project Officer's Group requirements, including Stockpile-to-Target Sequence.

The RRW projects also may transform the manufacturing infrastructure



Reliable Replacement Warhead (RRW) Feasibility Study Project Team — Joseph Martz and Angie Martinez of PADWP; Daniel Abeyta, Bradley Baas, Donald English, Brandon Gabel, Todd Kimbrough, Jeffrey Roybal, and Christopher Scully of W-11; Robert Aikin Jr., John Balog, Robert Hackenberg, and Deniece Korzekwa of MST-6; Mark Anderson, Miles Baron, James Beck, John Becker, Langdon Bennett, Baolian Cheng, Jill Hefele, John Pedicini, Robert Pelak, and Maria Rightley of X-4-AFS; Joysree Aubrey of P-21; Mary Barr, Thomas Farish, Drew Kornreich, and Antonio Villegas of AET-2; Roy Baty, Jobie Gerken, and John Langford of WT-1; Michael Bernardin of X-2; James Betschart, Frederic Bradshaw, and Vj Montanye of CS-PCS; Robert Bishop and Ronald Martinez of W-10; Lawrence Brooks, Terrence Buxton, John Hargreaves, David Hayden, Lavere Hiteman Jr., Dan Knobeloch, Jon Nielsen, Scott Schilling, Cary Skidmore, Dale Talbott, and Daniel Trujillo of W-5; John Budzinski of X-4-TAR; Michael Burkett, Renida Carter, and Nathaniel Morgan of X-4-SS; Damon Burnett of AET-1; Albert Charmatz, Arlen Heger, and Daniel Stinemates of WT-2; Robert Chrien of X-3-MP; Keith Despain, Stephen Kemic, Fred Mortensen, Charles Nakhleh, John Scott, and Jennifer Young of X-2-N2; Seth Gleiman, Kevin Hase, Marcelina Martinez, and John Weigle of WT-6; Thomas Gorman and Gary Wall of X-4-NSI; Michael Haertling of X-DO; Donald Haynes of X-2-PC; Martin Herrera and Peter Sandoval of WT-3; Elizabeth Hogan and Steven Renfro of W-D0; John Hopson Jr. and Jacob Perea of ADWP; Douglas Kautz of WCM-2; Brett Kniss of PM-D0; Gordon Medford of W-3; Brad Meyer and Chad Schmidt GW-7; Jody Niesen and Jacob Tafoya of PF-TDI; Rafeel Padilla and Clifford Polston of W-2; David Ponton of W-4; John Purson of IAT-1; James Sowers of AET-3; Keith Thomas of W-6; George Tafoya of D-6; John Vandenkieboom of X-2-AFS; Peggy Sue Volz of WT-8; Robert Weaver of X-2-N1; Gary Gladysz, Edward Nava, David Olivas and Edgar Vaughan.

Week of September 11, 2006

Page 7

Los Alamos NewsLetter